Peja to Knicks

Moderators: loserX, Andre Roberstan, HartfordWhalers, BullyKing, Texas Chuck, MoneyTalks41890, Mamba4Goat, pacers33granger, Trader_Joe

loflin3hree5ive
Retired Mod
Retired Mod
And1: 65

Peja to Knicks 

Post#1 » by loflin3hree5ive » Tue Jan 8, 2008 6:33 pm

Knicks Get:
Peja Stojakovic
Bobby Jackson
Rasual Butler
Melvin Ely

Hornets Get:
Jamal Crawford
Malik Rose
Nate Robinson
Mardy Collins
Fred Jones

Knicks get somebody to spread the floor, take on more salary but at this point, what does it really matter? This trade makes them better. Peja might give the Garden some hope.

Hornets gain depth and dump some salary. Peja is better than Crawford, but Jamal makes 67% of Peja's mega-salary. Rose's contract expires after next season. Jones is off the books after this season. All can help the Hornets immediately. Robinson is a long-term backup PG solution and Collins is a nice prospect to top the deal off.

I'm no expert on either team, whether NO would ever want to let go of Peja or if the Knicks would ever want him. Leave some feedback.
ctorres
RealGM
And1: 3,579

Post#2 » by ctorres » Tue Jan 8, 2008 7:39 pm

The problem with this deal is that the Hornets give up two of their SF's and get no SF's in return.
nate33
Forum Mod - Wizards
Forum Mod - Wizards
And1: 19,648

Post#3 » by nate33 » Tue Jan 8, 2008 7:41 pm

It's not a terrible offer, but I think New Orleans declines. Peja is significantly better than Crawford. His eFG% is .530 versus Crawford's .455.

And more importantly, he's exactly the kind of catch-and-shoot player who compliments Paul perfectly. Peja never turns the ball over.

The filler in this trade is basically a wash salary-wise. The only real question is whether New Orleans would prefer to pay Peja $14M a year for his services, or pay Crawford $9M a year for his.